No Longer An Oncology Patient


Last Monday, August 22nd, I went to the cancer center for another set of bloodwork, a CT scan, and a follow-up with my oncologist. After that follow-up, I wrote this:

Usually, I hope to come back from these visits being called #boring. I’ve spent the week reflecting on this news – I knew it was a possibility and it is really great news. And I am slowly but surely getting used to the fact that the safety net of these follow-ups is no longer there. I am cautious though. And I will be vigilant. I have to be. I’ve already had one recurrence. And while you and I both want to think that Hodgkin’s won’t come back a third time, the fact of the matter is that is just a wish, a hope, a dream.

What I know today is

  • that I am still cancer free after five years,
  • that I am healthier physically and hopefully mentally than I have been in years,
  • that I have a strong support system around me,
  • that I am inspired and committed to do my part to rid the world of cancer,
  • that I am indebted to my wife and our daughter, our family, and our friends for all the love and support during these tumultuous days,
  • that cancer is beatable and I will advocate until my last days for the treatments to continue to improve so that a patient’s quality of life can be maximized
  • that I need to figure out what this whole ‘not being a cancer patient’ thing is all about
  • that my #lifewithcancer continues, because it has helped shaped my thinking, defined a purpose, and focused my passions.

In this space, in the very near future, I will share some stories from my 10th PMC, which was earlier this month.  It was a fantastic weekend for a bike ride. Til the next time…

Yours in life,

Andy

 

 

3 thoughts on “No Longer An Oncology Patient

  1. Thanks Andy for all your reflections. Grateful for good news and hope that your health life will always be boring. Continued prayers and love, Catherine

Leave a comment