Long Time, No Blog


It has been a while since I last wrote. It certainly has not been because I haven’t been thinking about the PMC. Nor has it been that I haven’t been thinking about friends and friends of friends who are actively in their own personal battles against cancer. The basic reason is that life is being lived.

Much of the time that I spent blogging over the past years, since my recurrence, has thankfully been claimed by training for the PMC. Since first getting back outside in early April, I have logged over 600 miles and 40 hours riding around Baltimore, and in Connecticut and Pennsylvania, too. I am on pace to do more training than I have ever done for the PMC before. And it is a good thing too, because I am planning that in 2 months that I’ll be riding 300 miles in 3 days from one end of Massachusetts to the other.

Roadside, Western Connecticut Emu
Roadside, Western Connecticut Emu
Another training ride across state lines
Another training ride across state lines

Each time I roll out for a training ride, I proudly wear one of my many PMC or Team Forza-G jerseys, knowing that I am part of a fundraising army. One on a mission, each year going a little bit farther than the last. I recently told someone here in Maryland about the PMC. I told them how far I was going to ride. Jaw drops. I told them how many people. Jaw drops a little further. Then I told them how much money – $45 million. They asked “over how many years?” to which I replied “that’s this year”. Jaw hits floor. I’ve had this same conversation again and again. The scope of what the PMC and all of the riders is trying to do is massive. And it is necessary. And it will one day be completed.

But that day has not yet come… so we continue to train, and push ourselves to go farther. To come back from battling cancer to inspire and help lead the charge. To ask again, for what probably seems like the 100th time, for donations. To dream about the day that I won’t need to do that. To worry about the day that I won’t be able to do any of this. But until that day, I will push on, like so many have before me, and so many more inspiringly do each and every day.

Now that you have taken the time to read this post today, won’t you take another moment, to make a difference yourself by giving? 100% of your donation to the PMC will be used for live-saving cancer research and treatment at the Dana-Farber Cancer Institute.

Basically, your donation will save someone’s life. Someone like me.

All you have to do is click here…..

2 thoughts on “Long Time, No Blog

  1. I very much like the part where you have not written because life is being lived. That’s what we need…to live life to the fullest. Where do I sponsor Norm? I want to do both at the same time.

Leave a Reply

