Cue the music


Yes – today is my birthday. #42 to be exact.

I will undoubtedly be serenaded with “Happy Birthday” a number of times today. I am so thankful to be here to be awash of those glorious lyrics.  Nineteen years ago this March,  and then again, four years ago this March, my birthday was shrouded by the specter of cancer.  Then, thanks to all the research, clinical trials, and bravery of the cancer patients who came before me, I received life-saving treatment. I will never forget those birthdays as the uncertainty and fear that filled those days have motivated me to this day.

fighting

Today, I encourage you to think about the people in your life – do you know someone who is going through cancer treatment?  Do you know a survivor? Do you know the pain and struggle of a cancer diagnosis and treatment firsthand? Most likely you do – there are 15 million cancer survivors living in the United States today, nearly 1 out of every 20 people.

fightingforthem

There are many rides, runs, walks, and charity events raising money to fight cancer as well as innumerable other diseases. The Pan-Mass Challenge, which I will again ride, is raising money so that cancer will be cured. 100% of your donation will go directly to Dana-Farber Cancer Institute’s unrestricted funding. You can learn more about how the Dana-Farber uses these funds here.  I hope that in honor of my birthday and in honor and memory of those that you know that have battled cancer, you will make a donation today. It will save lives. It will move us one day closer to the end of cancer.

Thank you!

Donate here: http://www2.pmc.org/profile/AS0171

One thought on “Cue the music

  1. Dear Andy, I have not forgotten that I have not yet made a donation to this year’s ride nor in honor of your birthday. It will be coming. I promise. Hope you had a great birthday.

Leave a Reply

