2015: Pushing On


[Note: On the occasion of today being World Cancer Day, I finally sat down to write my annual appeal that lives on my PMC donation page and I am sharing it here for your reading pleasure]


On August 1st, along with more than 5,000 fellow cyclists, buoyed by an army of thousands of volunteers, I will begin my 9th PMC. I have begun to think that as each year goes by, my passion for this event and for its noble mission – to raise money that will lead to finding cures for cancer – has become more obsessive.  Hardly a day goes by that I don’t wear some PMC swag, or train for the ride, or think about a new fundraising idea.

Often my PMC thoughts are triggered by reminders of loved ones, family, friends, and friends of friends, who have faced cancer personally. If you know me, then you likely know that I am a 2-time cancer survivor.  These reminders have become nearly omni-present, for two separate reasons. The first is the wonderful one – that more and more, these loved ones are facing cancer and beating it. These people are Living Proof and I share an instant connection with them. The second reason that these reminders are more frequent are the still-to-common losses and new challenging diagnoses that have little or no treatment options. Both sets of reminders have a unique way of motivating me – to continue to train, to continue to ride, and to continue raising more money.
Why I Ride the Pan-Mass Challenge: This is my view from my trainer in the basement. On November 4, 2014, I began my training for #PMC2015. Each session, I'll add a new name. First name this year - my dad, who is going through chemotherapy now for pancreatic cancer #dadchemo  #endcancer
Why I Ride the Pan-Mass Challenge: This is my view from my trainer in the basement. On November 4, 2014, I began my training for #PMC2015. Each session, I’ll add a new name. First name this year – my dad, who is going through chemotherapy now for pancreatic cancer #dadchemo #endcancer

So, here’s the ask – have you been touched by cancer? On my blog, you’ll see my “Why I Ride” board, on which I add a name of a family member, a friend, or an acquaintance who has faced cancer before each of my training sessions. During my training sessions this winter, this board stares back at me while I pedal on my trainer – a constant reminder of why I am on my bike, in the basement, for the 4th straight day. And I keep Pushing On.

Now it is my time to ask you. Will you push on with me? What are you willing to donate today to help end cancer and to see an end to the pain, suffering, and sadness that this insipid disease causes?   What if it was the life of a loved one, a friend, or a college roommate? What if it was your child? What if it was you?
Make a donation and save lives. It is that simple. Right now, you have a chance to save lives.
2 thoughts on “2015: Pushing On

Leave a Reply

