The Big PMC Announcement (with Video)


Thanks to all my friends and family who donated to this year’s ‪Pan Mass Challenge – every single dollar you donated is heading to the Dana Farber Cancer Institute. Saturday night at a gala event at Fenway Park, the Pan Mass Challenge announced the largest total gift in the history of the event (and $1 million more than the goal). This gift brings the 35-year total donation to $455 million. It is the largest sum ever contributed to a charity by any athletic fundraising event anywhere in the world. The $41 million gift is $2 million more than the 2013 donation. This increase is a tribute to the commitment all of you have to this mission and this event. I personally have friends and teammates who have gone to Dana Farber for their treatment and are Living Proof that your donation is saving lives. On behalf of these friends, I humbly say THANK YOU!

I know that the research done at DFCI has made me a cancer survivor twice over as well. And I believe that one day, we won’t have to do this any more because DFCI and others will find the cures for all cancers. Until then, I am grateful for your donations, support, and encouragement. I’d share more right now, but I’ve got to get on my trainer – ‪PMC 2015 is just around the corner.

Here is the video they showed Saturday night at Check Presentation event to announce record-breaking donation by the Pan-Mass Challenge to Dana Farber. Sure if you did the slow-mo, I’m in there somewhere- certainly in all those Living Proof  photos.

This pretty much wraps the 2014 PMC year with a big live-saving bow. Only 56 days until I register for PMC 2015 so we continue on the path of stopping cancer.

 

Leave a Reply

