Training and Fundraising Update – March 2014


As promised, here is my monthly review of the goals that I laid out for 2014.

Goal 1: Go Farther.  My ‘go farther goal’ is to ride 300 miles in 3 days from the New York/Massachusetts border all the way to Provincetowon the first weekend of August over PMC weekend.   Which means I need to train my tail off between now and August 1!  So far this year, I have spent 27 hours on the trainer, doubling the amount I did in 2013. And I have already gotten outside for a couple of rides, including a 40-mile trek to Annapolis.

Goal 2: Go Faster.   It is hard to really hard for me to know how all this extra time on the trainer inside is going to translate to riding outside. Until you get out and do it… with two outdoor rides already under my belt, I have to say, things are going pretty well. One hill in particular used to challenge me a couple of years ago. In fact, I was going so slow one time up it, I fell over. Last year, I mastered climbing that hill. And in my first trip up it in 2014, I set a personal best climbing that hill. First shot… I would say I am getting a little faster!

Goal 3: Fundraise More.  After the successful February #18for18 campaign that so many of you donated to, I thought it would be tough to keep up the momentum in March. Well, you proved me wrong again, with donations totaling over $1,100 for the month of March. That pushes the total for the year to date to over $2,164, or 21% of this year’s goal. This is by far the most that has been donate before the end of March, by about 2.5 times. Thank you to all 41 families who have already made a difference!

Goal 4: Think Bigger.   This means adding new ways for me to ask people to support the PMC.  The #18for18 campaign was one of these new ways. I also want to thank everyone who donated in honor of my birthday. Those gifts are so humbling to me. Of the 41 people who donated, 15 are new donors.  I have some more ideas on the way soon, but don’t forget that these two new ways to support my ride already in place for 2014!

  1. First, my high school classmate and independent fantasy author  Jamie Tinker.  He is donating 1/2 of the proceeds of sales from his first book The Widow’s Warning to the PMC! His book is now available on Kindle, iBooks, Kobo, & Nook! Download and enjoy it today and help cure cancer in the process! Thank you Jamie for your help!
  2.  Follow this link next time you purchase something from Amazon, and a portion of the proceeds will go to the PMC!

April is sure to be a big month! Keep your eyes open for another Talking GOOD profile (here’s a link to my first profile, in case you missed it) and, hopefully, so more outdoor riding!

One thought on “Training and Fundraising Update – March 2014

  1. We can’t keep up with you Andy…for heavens sake don’t wear yourself out. You’re out ahead of us all right now. Slow down. We love you.

Leave a Reply

