22 years old, and I was already a cancer survivor


IMG_6944
On the day I turned 23 years old, I was already a cancer survivor. It changed my life. Now I am committed to help others enjoy more birthdays! Click to make your donation!

It was 18 years ago today.  The day that I first became a cancer patient. It was certainly a day that changed my life.

I didn’t think back then what life was going to be like when I was 40 years old.

I was just hoping that I’d get to 23.

And now, all these years later, I am still going and committed to helping create a world that is not afraid of cancer. A world that cure and control cancer once it enters a body in a way that is humane and allows everyone to maintain their quality of life. That is why I am asking everyone to make a donation to my annual PMC ride for the Dana-Farber Cancer Institute today.

Would you donate $18 today to help me celebrate my 18th year of survivorship AND to create a cancer-free world? That seems like a pretty good deal. To top it off, I will pledge to ride 1 minute on my trainer tomorrow for each dollar donated before 12 midnight tonight.

Please Donate Here: http://www.pmc.org/as0171

PS – Not to hedge my bet here, but should you all outdo yourself and lots of donations come in (a great problem to have right), I will still ride 1 minute on my trainer for each dollar donated today, but will do it with the next week. Seriously, there are only 1,440 minutes in a day and I don’t think I can sit on the trainer for an entire 24 hours. But I would pledge to do it by the end of the week.

2 thoughts on “22 years old, and I was already a cancer survivor

  1. Reblogged this on I'm Not Sick, I Just HAD Cancer and commented:

    #18for18 update: Thank you to the great people who made donations on Saturday and Sunday, the #18for18 campaign was a huge success – $750 total! I honestly was hoping for $250, so I can say that you all have outdone yourselves. I am trying to complete my end of the deal – I will pledge to ride 1 minute on my trainer for each dollar donated. So that means 12 1/2 hours. Obviously, my initial offer to do this on Sunday was foolhardy. But I am trying to complete all of these hours by the end of this coming weekend. I’ve ridden each day this week progressively longer and longer times, so this motivation has actually given my indoor training a boost. Again, thank you! The tough news for me is that even with all I’ve done so far, I’ve only done 3.5 hours total. Yikes! I’ll just have to keep going.

Leave a Reply

