April Training Recap


The weather cooperated and I got motivated in April to get out and train. Finally, off the indoor trainer and outside on the bike. I don’t believe that I have ever gotten outside to ride consistently this early in the year. And I need it – in 2011, I didn’t ride because of chemo, and last year, I was able to do about 1/2 of Day 1 of the PMC. This year, 192 miles in 2 days in early August is the goal, the mission, the objective, and the only way I am going to get there is to do more training and more mileage in the months and weeks leading up to the PMC than I ever have before. The trick of the whole training routine is going to be the Baltimore summer – 90 degrees and 90% humidity, each and every day, will be starting soon. I hope not too soon, but it once it does, I am going to have to make some serious adjustments to my schedule to get out early.

For those that are interested, here is the April training recap:
Total Rides: 7
Total Mileage: 121 miles
Total Time: 9 hours, 25 minutes
Longest Ride: 35 miles
Fastest Speed: 42.5 mph

The other fun part about riding in Baltimore – it is quite hilly here. My two longest rides, 35 and 25 miles each, I did over 1,600 ft of climbing. By comparison, the first day of the PMC has a total gain of 1,535 feet (according to MapMyRide.com). As long as I can tolerate the heat & humidity, the hills here are going to get me ready.

Ocean View Drive in Wellfleet – here I come.

Now here’s the deal – between now and Saturday, August 3rd when I start on the road for a 192-mile weekend bike ride at 5:30 AM, please make a donation to the PMC and the Dana-Farber Cancer Institute AND ask a friend to do it too! Each day, each donation, and each mile, we are closer to a cure.

Here’s the link to my personal, safe, and secure donation page.

One thought on “April Training Recap

  1. Keep on riding Andy. You are an inspiration to us all. For myself, I get tired just thinking about it. Perhaps I’ll take a walk around the block in solidarity with you! Love, Catherine

Leave a Reply

