Finally, Some Good News


The Bruins Win the Stanley Cup on our 9th wedding anniversary and then we find out that I am really beating cancer. Pretty great 24 hours for me! Hey guys, can I drink from the Cup too? (no, I am not related to Tyler Seguin, but I am awfully proud to have the same surname as him)

Yesterday, I had a PET Scan to see how effective the chemo treatments have been against the Hodgkins Lymphoma that has invaded my body.

Today, we got the results.

And the results are good.

Very good!

After a few months of receiving mostly bad news at each turn in our life, the relief of this news being positive is, to say the least, overwhelming.

I told Michele this afternoon that I feel like the Bruins just won the Stanley Cup (which they did, HOORAY!), the Patriots just won the Super Bowl, the Red Sox just won the World Series, and the Celtics just won the NBA Finals. All on the same day.

Yes, I know that is not possible. But that is my level of happiness. I forgot to add – the USA wins the FIFA World Cup and I ride the PMC. Again, all on the same day!

I felt so good that I actually had my first beer since early April. And it was oncologist approved (if you are curious, it was Harpoon 100 Barrel Series Island Creek Oyster Stout on tap at our favorite local restaurant/bar/lounge/coffee shop).

By now you must realized that this news is really really good (so was my beer).

Here is the news:

[add your own drumroll for added affect]

The enlarged and malignant lymph nodes that were in my abdomen are no longer enlarged AND are no longer showing signs of malignancy.

Basically, these results mean that the chemo is working. I will continue with the course of treatment (8 more to go), with the goal of reducing my risk of recurrence down the road.

That is the nice way of me shouting from the mountaintop: HEY CANCER – I’M BEATING YOU AGAIN! AND THERE IS NOTHING, ABSOLUTELY NOTHING THAT YOU CAN DO ABOUT IT!

So, dear friends, your thoughts and prayers have worked. I am so blessed and fortunate to have so many people who care about me. Please don’t stop, the next 4 months are still filled with rides on the chemotherapy roller coaster, which continues to come up with new twists and turns each time. My recovery from Treatment #4 has been much longer and more riddled than the previous three. And there is still a long way in this battle left to go. I am not cured yet, but this was a major step along the way to getting there.

Love to you,

Andy

7 thoughts on “Finally, Some Good News

  1. I got so choked up reading this my husband automatically assumed it had to be bad news lol

    I could not be happier for you!!!!!!

  2. Hooray! Thank you for sharing this wonderful news! May this triumphant feeling give you strength in the days ahead. Love, Karen

  3. It must feel great to finally get some good news! Keep your head up, the power of positive thinking is amazing sometimes. Hope you enjoyed that drink! My thoughts are with you; may you come out on top.

Leave a Reply

