Treatments Planned


As I previewed in Tuesday’s post, I had my first appointment with my new oncologists on Wednesday. As I expected, I have a series of additional scans and lab tests to do, mostly to establish a baseline. I am going to have one long day with many tests, bloodwork, etc next Thursday. We are trying to blast through them all by the end of next week and get started on treatment on Tuesday, April 26. In total, I will have 12 treatments, one chemo dose every other week. So if all goes well, I will finish up by the end of September. That part is pretty manageable, hopefully. In my first bout with Hodgkins, my treatment regimen was radiation, Monday through Friday, for almost 10 weeks, with a little break in the middle.

One of the tests that I will have to get next week I am particularly not looking forward to enduring. I have had it once before. It was unpleasant and I don’t believe that the procedure has changed that much in the last 15 years. If you have ever had a bone marrow biopsy done, you know what I am talking about. If you have not, I hope that you never have one. It is not fun, not pleasant, not enjoyable in any way. That test is Wednesday.

On Thursday, I will have a full-body PET/CT scan, a pulmonary function test, an echocardiogram, and some bloodwork. I would do this series of tests a thousand times in a thousand days before wanting another bone marrow biopsy. My personal indulgence after this long Thursday at the hospital will be enjoying the Ice Cream Social at our daughter Shannon’s daycare.

I just looked at my PMC fundraising account and was struck by the list of the last 5 fantastic folks who have donated to my ride and the PMC. I was just amazed that these 5 people are all from 5 different parts of my life. I work with one person, graduated from high school with the second person, the third person I only know through Twitter, the fourth went to Harvard with Michele, and the fifth is a high school classmate of my sister-in-law. The outpouring of love and support for me and Michele today and also for my ride through the years has come from many people and places in our lives. We have been contacted by high school friends, college classmates, co-workers and grad school colleagues, teammates, family and family friends, and our new Baltimore friends. Thank you all so very much for your love, generosity, spirit, well wishes, thoughts, and prayers. All of this has given me great strength and confidence. Please keep emailing, commenting, texting, Facebook-ing, tweeting me (and Michele). It really means so much to us.

2 thoughts on “Treatments Planned

Leave a Reply

