I am not sick, I just have cancer (again).


Hello again, my dear friends. Since last Monday’s post, I have heard from so many of my friends. Thank you so much for your love and support. I have received numerous emails, posts, and cards, and I have read them all and am so appreciative. Please keep them coming!

The only update I really have to share today is that my first appointment with my new oncologists at the Johns Hopkins Sidney Kimmel Comprehensive Cancer Center will be this Wednesday, April 13. I expect that we will discuss what, if any, additional testing needs to be done and what the treatment options are. We’ll probably get an orientation to the cancer center and become familiar with a place that we will become all too familiar with in a very short time. I hope to be able to figure out if I will be able to ride in this year’s Pan-Mass Challenge.

My followup appointment with the surgeon who performed the biopsy of the enlarged lymph node in the groin was last Friday. She confirmed the diagnosis that we had discussed after the surgery. That was not a surprise. The interesting thing was that I walked out of the appointment with a copy of my pathology report. When I mentioned this to a friend of mine here in Baltimore who is a neurologist, his reply was “Wow, that certainly didn’t happen 15 years ago.” Those were my thoughts exactly. The diagnosis is that I have classical Hodgkin Lymphoma.

I have cancer, again. And now, I will explain the title of this post. “I am not sick, I just have cancer”. Some people have asked me how I have been feeling, and yesterday, I came up with this answer. It may sound flippant or harsh, but frankly, I feel that it is true. I have no symptoms, like fever, night sweats, chills, itching. It has been nearly two weeks since the biopsy, and I am pretty energetic and have no pain. So, if you honestly look at it, I am not sick. Maybe it would be better to say “I am feeling ready”.

I am so thankful that I found the lump. I could be going along without knowing at all that these tumors were inside me, ready to grow more, ready to attack, ready to make me sick. Ready to threaten me. Now though, there will be no more sneaking up on me. I am ready, willing, able, and fully supported in my new challenge against cancer. As we like to say at my work, “BRING IT”! I am looking forward to Wednesday, to start my treatments, and to beat cancer (again!)

Once more, thank you for your love and support. It means the world to me and Michele. Please keep it coming! Your love is returned in full.

Love to you and yours,

Andy

5 thoughts on “I am not sick, I just have cancer (again).

  1. Andy, you are truly an inspiration! We are so glad to have become a part of yours, Michele’s, and Shannon’s lives. Still keeping you in our prayers!

Leave a Reply

