2010. I AM IN!

23 Mar

Hello again! It has been quite a while since I wrote on my blog here. Since finishing last year’s amazing PMC adventure, a few things have happened on this end. Lets see if I can give you a quick rundown (these are in no particular order):

    our daughter, Shannon Josephine at 5 months

  1. My wife Michele gave birth to our amazing daughter Shannon Josephine (right) who blesses our life every day with a million smiles
  2. We decided to move to Baltimore so that Michele could take a faculty position at the Johns Hopkins School of Public Health.
  3. We sold our condo in Somerville.
  4. We purchased a new home in Baltimore
  5. We temporarily had to move into my in-laws (for 4 weeks) in between purchase and sale
  6. we’ve moved to Baltimore and then got clobbered by 50 inches of snow in 1 week
  7. oh and I almost forgot – 3 weeks before Shannon was born, I broke my collarbone in a freak soccer accident

So, needless to say, my thoughts have not be very focused on the PMC lately. In fact, at one point, I asked my Team Forza-G mates to “talk me into riding this year”. As our family has undergone so much change and a major addition, I was thinking that maybe I would take a year off. Heck, I don’t even have my road bike with me here in Maryland.

But I decided recently, after two long and persuasive discussions with Michele, that I would again saddle up and take the Pan-Mass Challenge. I have been through my reasons many times. The bottomline is this: we are trying to cure cancer here people – and it’s not as impossible as you might think. In fact, every day, the cure is closer. As is said throughout the PMC, ‘closer by the mile’.

I have chosen the occasion of, as my esteemed boss would say, my natal anniversary (aka my birthday) to ask my dear friends, family, and supporters to continue to help us in the cause to make cancer history. This goal is closer than ever before, because of the valuable research dollars that the PMC provides the researchers and doctors at the Dana Farber Cancer Institute.

Why do I spend hour upon hour of my spring and summer training and fundraising? To try to make sure everyone can have a chance to live their life, to fulfill their dreams, to live to their potential, even if they get cancer. I try to do this every day in my life. It has been 14 years since my diagnosis of Hodgkins Disease – and I know that the treatments are therapies are better than they ever have before. And in 14 more years, they will be even better. This is why I ride.

The PMC is not a race, it is a ride. But the battle against cancer, and thus the fundraising is a race. We can make a difference and save lives. Lets make this dream a reality. Thank you for all your support.

>> please make your donation here: http://www.pmc.org/profile/AS0171

One Response to “2010. I AM IN!”

  1. michele 03/23/2010 at 8:29 AM #

    Way to go, Andy!!! I’m so proud of you!

Leave a Reply

