PMC Weekend Recap


I have had a couple of weeks now to reflect on the amazing PMC 2009 Weekend. It went by very quickly. I saw many old friends and familiar faces and made many many new friends. I don’t think I can accurately explain how emotional the entire event is. From the Opening Ceremonies in Sturbridge all the way through the return to Boston Harbor, all I can remember being on the verge of laughter or tears.

Why Laughter?

Because for 2 days, all I have to do is ride my bike with my teammates. What a unique privilege! I am blessed to have the life that I have, with the wonderful family and friends who support my efforts. I am fortunate to have crossed paths with the PMC (thank you Jaime!) at the right time and place in my life where I was ready, willing, motivated, and passionate to join the cause. All I have to do for 2 days is ride a bike – sign me up!

Why the tears?

Every mile, you see someone holding a sign up telling you about someone that they know who is battling or has been taken by cancer. Some folks just say thank you. Some folks clap and yell and cheer you on. This isn’t every now and again. This is in every town, on every road, around every corner for 192 miles. You see who cancer has touched and I know personally I get stronger and more determined whenever I see these people and signs.

You also see the tributes that other cyclists make and wear/carry with them on their ride. How can you not be touched to see a pair of cyclists riding side by side, the guy with a yellow sign on his back saying “Living Proof Dad” and the gal with a sign saying “Living Proof Daughter”? You can see a picture of these two on the PMC homepage right now (about halfway down on the right).

Or how about Jack?

And then there is the Pedal Partners. Team Forza-G proudly rode for Mason, a somewhat shy, yet precocious 5 year old. We saw him at one of the waterstops on Saturday. That gave each and every one of us a huge adrenaline rush.

All that I have left to say to you, the readers, my supporters, my donors, is THANK YOU. Without you, I would just be some guy riding a bike. Because of you, I have a cause, a purpose, and motivation. I could not do it without you.

One thought on “PMC Weekend Recap

Leave a Reply

