Soccer Tourney Wrapup


Thank you for playing in the 2009 Kickin' Cancer Soccer Tournament.
Thank you for playing in the 2009 Kickin' Cancer Soccer Tournament.

The first Kickin’ Cancer Soccer Tournament is in the books and I am proud to announce the champion: Orange Talent. It was a great day of soccer and fundraising for the Jimmy Fund. I would like to thank all 134 players, their friends and family who came by to watch, the sponsors, my family, and the Amesbury Sports Park staff for making the entire day one that I will never forget.

If you would like to check out the photos from the day, please visit this site. Photos are available for purchase with the proceeds going to the Pan-Mass Challenge and the Jimmy Fund.  Shortly, I will post some of my favorite pics from the weekend for everyone to see.

Orange Talent, 2009 Champs
Orange Talent, 2009 Champs

Orange Talent won Division A and defeated the 2nd seed from Division B, C and J Team in the semifinals. Then they faced off, in their 6th match of the day, against the Boston Breakers, a team representing the front office staff of the WPS team, which had won Division B. Orange Talent showed their pace and skill in the final, scoring on the counterattack a couple of times, and delivering a well-deserved trophy to their case.

I spoke with many players and friends during the day. I tried to thank everyone personally for coming and participating. My favorite part of the day was at 10:15 AM, as I was starting to stretch out for my first game, standing on the deck, being able to see all 4 games, realizing that my dream of hosting this event had finally become reality.

Orange Talent captain Gino accepts the Kickin' Cancer championship trophy
Orange Talent captain Gino accepts the Kickin' Cancer championship trophy

But now that the trophy has been passed to our first champion, the job is not done. We still need to focus on the goal – making cancer history.  If you would like to make a donation to my PMC efforts, you can do so on my PMC Page.

2009 PMC – 10 days and counting.

Leave a Reply

