My 2009 PMC Page Story


I am back for my 3rd PMC in 2009, riding again with Team Forza G. This is my 13th year of L.W.C. (Life With Cancer). I am officially cured of the Hodgkins Disease that I was diagnosed with in February 1996, when I was 22 years old. I call it LWC because, once you have cancer, it never leaves your life.

In two years, I have raised over $11,000 for the PMC and the Jimmy Fund. Thank you to all the support of my friends and family in making this possible. This year is going to be bigger!

In honor of my 3rd ride and the PMC’s 30th anniversary, I am going to ride with my team for 3 days, 300 miles. The PMC will be the last 2 years and 200 miles (or so). Team Forza G’s ride on Friday July 31st will be from the NY State line to Sturbridge. I hope that you will help me go the extra mile by matching your donation from 2008 or even upping it a little bit.

In the past year, unfortunately, odds are good that you personally have known someone or known of someone who has been diagnosed with cancer. That is why the Dana-Farber, their philosophies on treatment and research, and this mission to make cancer a treatable disease is so important. So that everyone can have a chance at a cure.

If you need a reminder of what someone can do when they are given a chance to live life after cancer, well, we have had a reminder of the potential of that in the last week as well. Jon Lester.

This is why I am a rider and supporter of the PMC, the Dana Farber Cancer Institute, and the Jimmy Fund. To try to make sure everyone can have a chance to live their life, to fulfill their dreams, to live to their potential, even if they get cancer. I try to do this every day in my life. It has been 13 years since my diagnosis of Hodgkins Disease – and I know that the treatments are therapies are better than they ever have before. And in 13 more years, they will be even better. This is why I ride.

The PMC is not a race, it is a ride. But the battle against cancer, and thus the fundraising is a race. We can make a difference and save lives. Lets make this dream a reality. Thank you for all your support.
Andy

written: 1/4/08

Leave a Reply

