10 Days Til We Ride Out from Sturbridge!


Wow, where does the time go? It is only 10 days until the start of the 2008 PMC ride and I feel like I am ready to go. Last Friday, I did a great ride with fellow PMC rider and fellow Harpooner Liz on one of the hottest day of the years. We started out in Somerville at 6:30 AM, rode through Cambridge, Arlington, Belmont, Waltham, Weston, Wellesley, Dover, and Natick. We had lunch across the street from the Bacon Free Library. I don’t know if I can support such a library. Then we rode back to Somerville! The final result was 76 miles. EPIC!

I did get to sit on the bike a little bit over the weekend, nothing major, just getting around. Then I did a 36 mile ride on Monday morning out to Concord and Carlisle. Brisk pace, saw some other members of Team Forza-G on the road, and tried not to get too lost. Finished this ride in a little over 2 hours.

I am ready to roll from Sturbridge. I will be in Vermont for the rest of this week and will be riding most mornings, hitting the hills around the Harpoon Brewery in Windsor, Vermont. I am confident that my second PMC will go just as well as the first, maybe with a little less saddle-soreness (new word!) because I’ll be a little bit quicker on the rode!

MUST SEE TV ALERT: New England Cable News (NECN) will be airing the 2008 PMC Opening Ceremonies live from Sturbridge on Friday, August 1 from 8 PM to 9 PM. Sit down and see what the PMC is all about.

12 YEARS: This Thursday, July 24th is the 12th anniversary of my LAST and FINAL radiation treatment. I hope that you will help me celebrate this occasion by making a donation to my PMC ride in honor of this anniversary. You can do so in multiples of 12! You know – 12, 24, 48, 96, 192! Hey, like 192 miles (the distance from Sturbridge to Bourne!). Thanks so much!

10 days til Sturbridge!

Leave a Reply

