Mid-June Update


Well, June has certainly been a very hectic and trying month in our house, as some of you may already know. To our dear friends and family, thanks for all the support in the past couple of weeks. If you know what I am talking about, then you know how much your love and support lately has meant to Michele and myself. Thank you from the bottom of our hearts!

TRAINING UPDATE

After a big weekend of riding on Memorial Day, I have not spent a lot of time on my bike, mostly because of work. And I thought that not working in baseball any more meant an end to 20-hour days. Well, I am totally in the mood for a bike ride, after our team at Harpoon just put on an EPIC event, the Harpoon Brewery to Brewery bike ride. Many members of Team Forza-G, of which I am a new member, completed the demanding 146-miles from the Harpoon Brewery in Boston, MA to the Harpoon Brewery in Windsor, VT. I am happy to say that no Forza-G riders ended up in the back of the support van that I was driving. My odometer for the day totalled over 400 miles, none of it being on 2 wheels. Any how, I got some inspiration to get out on my own for some training this coming weekend. Only 44 more days til I head out from Sturbridge at 5 AM!

THANK YOU NIGHT AT HARPOON!

That being said, I have a bunch of people to thank – everyone who has donated this year and last year to my ride. So I am inviting everyone to Harpoon for a special night. We had such a great time last year. This year’s event will be on Thursday, July 10 from 6 to 9 pm. If you have already donated, it is a thank you with plenty of free beer and pizza! If you are planning on donating, you can do so either at the event (cash or check made out to Pan Mass Challenge) or you can do so on my PMC fund-raising page today. If you want to bring a friend, you are welcome – all donations are appreciated, of course. (photos from last year)

Last year, we had a silent auction and a raffle. That is the plan again this year. One of the silent auction items will be 2 tickets to join me for PMC Night at Fenway Park on July 12 – a package which includes getting into the park at 3 pm to enjoy a huge ballpark buffet, drinks, and ice cream, a bunch of special PMC programming pre-game, and obviously, game tickets. Last year, Michele and her parents came with me and it was a great night (photos). The Sox are 5-0 on PMC Nights. Last year, I also receive a pair of tickets to the Celtics (WORLD CHAMPS!) and many other fun gifts to auction and raffle off. So, hopefully, you can come, enjoy some beer, meet some other fine folks, and walk away with some prizes.

If you do not receive an email to the EVITE for the night at Harpoon – please leave a comment so I know you would like to come.

12 YEARS AND COUNTING

This July is my 12th anniversary of my last radiation treatment! So, if you’d like to make a donation to my PMC ride in honor of this anniversary, you can do so in multiples of 12! You know – 12, 24, 48, 96, 192! Hey, like 192 miles (the distance from Sturbridge to Bourne!).

THE BIG FINISH: 44 more days!

Leave a Reply

